The Sky’s the Limit…..Thank you Earl Nightingale

by writergirl68

clouds_002

Within the past month I have learned about an awesome motivational speaker and “Dean of Personal Development” Earl Nightingale.  I am sure someone will look at me in astonishment and ask if I have been living on Mars.  No, I am an inhabitant of Earth who just happens to have never heard of Earl Nightingale until a month ago. Be that as it may I am so glad I have found this man and all his wisdom.  When I happened upon one of his videos on Youtube I was completely blown away.  And what REALLY surprised me was that the message he initially shared back in the 1950s is still very relevant today.  He shares the idea that we become what we think about, which is true.  And that our entire life hinges on our attitude and our thoughts, still very relevant today.  You may say this type of message has been around for eons, but how many of us actually practice it?  How many of us sit idly by and let life crap all over us without putting up one duke to fight back?

I am embarking on a new (renewed) adventure in my life and I want to take you along for the ride.  It’s my way of holding myself accountable and having the world hold me accountable as well.  Upon finding these treasured videos of Earl Nightingale’s I have had a rejuvenation of sorts.  I am about to become very transparent for the sake of saving myself from myself.  I quit my job two years ago to embark on my writing career and to work full-time on building a non-profit for single parents I co-founded.  Well in the last two years I’ve lost my house, gotten severely in debt and barely worked on my writing or my non-profit.  I thought by making the decision to “step out on faith” that everything was going to be just fine.  Well it didn’t and I just kind of let life crap all over me and laid there in it.  I got depressed, didn’t want to do anything but sulk and feel sorry for myself.  Did I make the wrong decision to leave my job?  Am I a fraud? Am I going to pay for this for the rest of my life?  The answer to all of those questions are a resounding no.  I just didn’t have a proper plan.  I was tired of my job (albeit a good job and a great place to work), so I just decided to leave. Not a great plan, but I was miserable.

While I was listening to Earl Nightingale I realized that the first part of my plan should have been my attitude.  I should have had an attitude of euphoria not escape.  I should have had an attitude of “I AM going to make it!” instead of “I’ll make it somehow”.  My whole thinking process was about how to get out of my job, that I didn’t have a clear plan what I was going to do once I did leave.  That’s canon balling into an empty pool, once you hit it’s REALLY going to hurt.  So now I am at a point where I just CAN’T do this anymore, “this” being not working on my writing and building my businesses.  I can’t let life crap all over me anymore and just take it.  Earl Nightingale shared a quote from a German philosopher named Gerta that said “Before you can do something, you must first be something”.  In my mind I am trying to do all these things, but who am I?  We become what we think about.  This is where my journey starts and I thank you for coming along with me. I am adjusting my attitude and becoming what I think about.  Who am I?  Who do I want to be?  I want to be a writer, so therefore I must start calling myself a writer AND I must WRITE!  I am committing to at least 500 words a day.  I have a non-profit for single parents families, so I am President and Co-Founder.  I must get a solid board in place, get the website revamped and start planning events to support the single parent families in my community. Sounds easier when you get it out of your head and get it down on paper (or on the computer screen).  I have also started a personal concierge business which means I am a Chief Operating Officer.  I need to get out the word about this new business and get clients.

Each week I am setting goals for myself  that I am going to share here in this blog to get my life back on track.  There is so much I need to do, but if I chunk it down into bite sized pieces it can get done.  As the old saying goes “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.”  I thank you for entertaining me during this long post.  I am so excited to get started on this journey and prove to myself that I don’t have to sit back like a lame loser and be envious of other people’s lives, I need to get working on my own awesome life.  See you at the top.  🙂

P.S. –  I want to leave you with one more quote from Earl Nightingale, it says:

“We will receive not what we idly wish for, but what we justly earn. Our rewards will always be in exact proportion to our service.”

