Amplify

by writergirl68

Amplify (v) – to make larger, greater or stronger; enlarge; extend

Lately I have been reading articles and posts about choosing a word to describe how you want your life to be in the New Year instead of making New Year’s resolutions.  Ahhh  New Year resolutions.  That high pressure litany of goals you set out to accomplish to turn your life around in six months.  You want to get out of debt, go back to school, start your own business, quit smoking, incorporate a great 7 day exercise routine, travel more, finally write that book, speak up for yourself more, completely redo your wardrobe. WHEW!!!  What probably took about 10 years to get your life to where it is now you think a list of 30 goals and a six month time frame is going to be the magic pill.  Even the most Type A, hard-charging, laser focused person is not going to get this done.  Slow and steady wins the race.  I used to fall into the resolution trap.  I made a list EVERY year of what I wanted to accomplish.  Looked over my list. Felt good about my list. Told people about my list. And on January 1st it was ON! And usually by January 15th it was off.  Pressured myself into a corner every single time, threw in the towel and settled into that familiar place of procrastination and fear and would vow to try again next year.  So exhausting.  Well lately I have been hearing about adopting a single word regarding how you want your life to be. One word doesn’t seem so bad, if you pick the right word.  The title of this blog is the word I have chosen…amplify.  To expand and make larger.

I have played so small in my life for so long it just seems to come natural, which is bullshit.  I wasn’t put here to play small.  I was put here to do great things.  Be a great person. Accomplish great feats.  I look around and peek in the windows of other people’s lives and I get green with envy and angry with myself.  Ugh.  Well then DO SOMETHING about it for Pete’s sake!!  Amplify my life is what I am going to do.  That may sound huge, but as the awesome saying goes “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.”  To make my life greater, stronger or larger can merely mean getting up 15 minutes earlier each morning to pray. To drink at least four glasses of water a day.  To take the stairs instead of the elevator. Pick one day out of the week to unplug completely from social media.  We always think changing our lives mean we have to commit to these GRAND GESTURES.  Small daily actions can create a big fulfilling life.  Also sometimes when changing your life you just need to keep quiet about what you’re doing.  Making emphatic declarations to the world can backfire if you don’t follow through on your goals.  Keep your plans to yourself and let your new life unfold quietly and beautifully before the world.

So the word I am using to describe the new life that I am building is “Amplify“.  Tacitly yet boldly creating a greater, larger and stronger life.  What’s your word?

