Your vision…Well fed or malnourished?

by writergirl68

Last weekend I went to a women’s ministry event that talked about “bearing good fruit”.  Using your gifts to manifest great things that serve others and honors God.  I am so glad I went to this event because it made me take a long hard look at myself and my mess.  I kept telling myself that I wanted to change my life, I was going to use my gifts to make money and serve others.  I was going to stop being a lazy and fearful procrastinator.  Yep, I would have this pep rally for myself at least once a month and the adrenaline would last for a few days then back to square one. Well at this ministry event my friend Dina preached about having a vision.  And not just about having a vision BUT we must write the vision down!  It is a biblical principal (yes I said it, not going to use “politically correct” language for those who are squeamish about the bible and God). In the bible it says in Habakkuk 2:2 “Write down the vision and make it plain on tablets, so that whoever reads it may run with it” and in Proverbs 29:18 “Without a vision, the people perish”.   These are two very powerful scriptures on having a vision.  We must see it like we are looking at a movie.  We must picture in our mind’s eye what we want our life to look like, feel like, taste like.  We must nurture the vision, live with the vision, talk about the vision, talk TO the vision. But first we must write the vision down.  Something about committing it to paper breathes life into it.  It makes it a living and breathing thing.  And just like we as humans are living breathing things, we need to be fed in order to live.  Without being fed we will starve to death, the very same thing happens to your vision.

My friend Dina also said during her sermon “How can God trust you to carry out the vision if He can’t trust you to write it down?”  WHOA! That is what you call a WORD.  You have to look at what you’re working for.  If your vision is to work toward buying your dream car, write it down!  If your vision is to work towards buying yourself a Tiffany bracelet, write it down!  If your vision is to get your degree in basket weaving, write it down!  Nothing is too trivial. Don’t think you have to work towards some monumental goal like feeding hungry children in a third world country, if that’s not your vision then it’s not your vision.  But write down what you are working for so you can SEE it.  This is your vision, no one else’s so don’t get caught up in what you think sounds noble, be true to you.

So I wrote down my vision in detail, looked it over and recited it.  I felt good about it. But I haven’t looked at it in a few days, which means it hasn’t been nourished.  We must be good custodians over our visions in order for them to come to fruition. Not only do you have to write it down but you must be committed to it.  Just like you commit to watching Scandal every Thursday night, you must commit to your vision.  Shonda Rhimes committed to her vision and now she has the entire world hooked on it!  See what passion and commitment can do?  So think about what you want your life to look like.  What fruit do you want to bear?  What things are you working toward?  Don’t allow your vision to be stillborn, feed it.

