Why can’t I focus?

by writergirl68

Ok I “launched” a new initiative in my life called “Operation Eat the Elephant”.  I have goals that I want to accomplish and I have talked ad nauseum (that’s a great term) about them.  And yet I have fallen stupidly back into my lazy, procrastinating, self-destructive patterns.  I’ve written my goals down, read countless articles on how to accomplish said goals, tried scolding myself about my awful time management skills (though I did hear a great quote that said “You can’t manage time, you can only manage yourself”), and the list goes on and on.  The same thing happens, nothing.  Why am I like this?  Why do I step outside myself and become my own hype man only to let myself down?  I have an array of self help books on everything from how to stop procrastinating to how to write a book in 26 days.  Why do I have a problem with committing to myself?  Hmmm, God just dropped something on me right there.  How can I expect this particular man to commit to marrying me when I can’t commit to myself?  Commit to developing better habits.  Commit to improving my skills.  Commit to using the talents and gifts God gave me.  Commit to elevating my life beyond what it is right now.  Well played God, well played.  Well guess I got my answer to a few questions today.  Don’t you love the way life unfolds when you least expect it?  Get to work.

