How I Netted $6,000 Worth of Technology and Business Training through Twitter.

by writergirl68

Image

Photo Credit, David Niblack, Imagebase.net.

In 2012 I participated in a free online business training class. The course was comprehensive and worth the eight week commitment. When you enrolled in the course, you were entered into a sweepstakes for a chance to win a variety of prizes.  I was just starting a business, so getting the extremely helpful information they were providing was prize enough for me.  Besides, I didn’t think I was going to win anything.  After the eight week course, I continued to use the information to start building my business, happy with my newly acquired knowledge. One day while checking my email, I came across an announcement informing me that I was the second place winner of the sweepstakes! WHOA! The package included $6,000 worth of computer equipment, a write up about me and my business in the magazine that was sponsoring the sweepstakes and a phone consultation with a small business expert. JACKPOT! Needless to say I was over the moon about the whole thing, until….

I completed and returned the necessary paper  work that was required so I could collect my prize. Well a few weeks went by and not a word. A few more weeks went by and not a word.  I called to find out what was going on and of course I received the standard “We’re so sorry for the delay blah blah blah and it’s on its way.”  A few more weeks passed and now when I called, the point of contact was not returning my calls.  Well this is bad business to say the least.  I took to Facebook with my rant and a friend of mine to told me to post it on their Twitter page. At that point I wasn’t a “tweeter” but I figured I would give it a shot.  I posted 140 characters of displeasure regarding the whole situation and within 15 minutes I got a response from the corporate office. WOW!!  I talked to corporate and they were very apologetic and within two days I starting receiving my technology, was being interviewed for the magazine and had a great phone consultation with the small business expert.  

If I didn’t believe before I am CERTAINLY a believer now in the power of social media, particularly Twitter.   I am still trying to get the hang of the tweet and am a new student of the philosophy, if a business isn’t treating you right….let the little birdie do the talking (tweeing) for you. The proof is me composing this blog on the computer I won.  #winning

