Why can’t I finish what I start? Post of a Procrastinator

by writergirl68

Image

One of the worst habits to have is to procrastinate.  There have been scores of articles, surveys and discussions about how it robs you of precious time and productivity.  Things that you should be getting done that are constantly being put on the back burner will never go away, they will just sit there and fester until it becomes a huge puss filled boil in your life that will eventually burst and coat you with a slimy, putrid goo.  Yeah that’s what it feels like, and just as I just described, that’s just how it feels…..nasty.  So why do I do it?  Why do I procrastinate?  Fear.  Number one cause of procrastination.  Fear that whatever you are supposed to do won’t work, fear that you will get rejected, fear that it may work this time but not the next time.  Well if it doesn’t work this time is it the end of the world?  No. That’s what I have to get past, the feeling if finality.  The feeling that if one thing doesn’t work the end of the world will come the very next second.  Rejection.  That never feels good, and yet I have been rejected many times in the past and yet I am still here.  It may work this time but not the next time, I honestly never understood that concept but according to studies that is also a reason people procrastinate.  I have so many great things I want to accomplish in my life, so many things I want to see and do and yet I procrastinate in getting them done, why?   Laziness.  Yep let’s face and talk to the big lazy elephant in the room.  Pure unadulterated laziness.  No one wants to admit to that but it is what it is.  As the saying goes, you can’t fix what you won’t face.  Laziness is a thorn in my side that I am too lazy to take out!  How crazy is that!  And yet I get upset when my life isn’t going quite the way I want it to.  It’s by my own hands.  I’ve spoken lip service into my life for so long and I’ve frustrated myself with it for so long.  So what am I going to do about it?  When am I going to start finishing what I start?  When I am going to STOP playing lip service to my life and walk into the magnificent life that I see in my head like a movie?  When am I going to stop letting my current circumstance stop me from having all that I dream about?  I can have it if I want it!  When is enough going to be enough of living in a mediocre existence?  I was put here to do great and impossible things and I need to act like it.  So I will stage a pep rally, break out the poms poms and shout my declaration of awesomeness once again. I will push through and act like my life means something.  And this time I won’t wait until tomorrow to do it.

