Don’t Worry, Be…..well you know the rest

by writergirl68

Image

 

So I am now on day 4 of the NaBloPoMo challenge, posting a blog every day in November and I am committed to finishing this.  Today I’m blogging about being happy.  Being happy being me.  Back in 1994 one of my favorite artists Mary J. Blige released a song called “Be Happy”.   It was sweet, melodic, and honest.  Part of the hook is “All I really want is to be happy”.  Yes Mary, I get it.  I have been saying that to myself in my head for a long time, and when you put that mantra to music I thanked you at the top of my lungs because you get it!   You get me.  All I really want is to be happy.  You’ve read a lot of articles and heard a lot of people talk about having a positive attitude, always think happy thoughts, choose to smile etc.  But sometimes it’s just not that easy.   Sometimes you are going through a major tough time and being happy just isn’t on the agenda.  That’s because we are focusing on how bad things are and all of the possible frightening outcomes that are waiting to pounce on us and choke the very life out of us!  We scare ourselves to the point of paralysis about things that more times than not don’t come true.  Right now I am in the middle of something pretty heavy but I have to choose to be happy or I may faint due to exhaustion from worrying so much. Sometimes when we are going through a trial we clinch our fists, squeeze our eyes shut, hold our breath and try to hold on as tight as we can.  How’s that working for you?   It’s hard sometimes to be happy but it could very well save your life.  Put on your favorite movie, talk to a good friend, find some affirmations and meditate on them or put on your favorite upbeat song. Nothing will change unless you change.  If you want to be happy, despite what is going on around you, take a page out of Nike’s book and just do it.  Show life what a happy warrior you are!

