Ready, Set, Blog!

by writergirl68

Image

 

November is fraught with excitement for me.  It is my birth month and there are a wide array of writing challenges going on.  This excited me because I love to write.  Ok I like to write, don’t love it all the time because it seemingly mocks me at times.  I’ve been “writing” things since I was 12 years old. (for context I will be 45 this month)  I wrote stories and poetry.  Writing soothed me, well actually it still continues to soothe me when I calm my nerves enough to sit down and put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard.  It is very cathartic, I am sure many writers will agree.  I have attempted NaNoWriMo a couple of times and let the breadth and the brevity of it scare me away a few days in.  UGH!  I hated that.  I let stringing words together to form a story scare me away.  Well here I am again attempting another writing challenge.  A few days ago I signed up for NaBloPoMo, to write a blog post a day for the entire month of November.  30 days.  It doesn’t seem as intimidating as writing a whole novel, although I am going to attempt to also write a novel this month concurrently.  Guess I am a glutton for punishment.  I have to push myself and prove that I can do this.  I have put off, down right neglected my fledgling writing career for years and now it’s time to put my Big Girl Writing Panties on.  To step up and stop being scared of what I like (love) to do.  Stop making excuses.  Stop thinking my writing isn’t good enough.  Stop putting other things in front of my writing. Stop being terrified of writing.  So three days in and I am still posting.  Wish me luck and see you on November 30th.

