Letting go…..

by writergirl68

Image

 

It’s been 15 years since I started growing my locs.  When I first started them I had no intention of growing them this long.  I initially cut off my hair in 1998 because I no longer wanted to chemically alter my hair.  I had been doing that since I was 17 years old and had grown weary of it.  Becoming natural wasn’t this deep, introspective journey I decided to take, I simply didn’t want to put anymore chemicals in my hair.  I grew my hair out just long enough to get twists and thought that was going to be it for me.  The longer the twists got, the more I liked my hair and so I decided to loc.  I went from being called “shawty and slim” when I was in the chemical world to “my sister, my queen and Earth” in the natural world.  Funny.  People  would always ask me what made me go natural and wait with baited breath for my version of the meaning of life.  Not that deep, no more chemicals.  Fast forward 15 years and as you can see in the picture on the left it’s a lot of hair to carry around on my head.  It was heavy and became burdensome.  I kept it growing because I thought it was pretty because it was long.  But it became out of control and I didn’t want to deal with it anymore. So since I didn’t deal with it, it started having a life of its own. Just like things in life that you don’t tend to, they form a life of their own and start to interrupt your life….badly. For a year I just kept wrapping it up in a bun but after while that just wasn’t working anymore.  My hair and my life needed to breathe. I needed to let go of the excess weight in order to function properly again.  So I made a decision to cut over half of the length of my hair in order to regain control of my life.  Surprisingly when I cut my hair it felt like the weight of the world was lifted off my shoulders.  I felt I could start accomplishing things I had been putting off for months.  I literally felt like I could breath again.  I was no longer literally and figuratively being strangled by excess hair that was serving no purpose in my life.  Sometimes you need to stop and figure out what is weighing you down in your life and eradicate it.  In my case it was about 14 inches of hair…..and my life is feeling so much better now.

