Wide awake…..Dead inside

by writergirl68

You know how you are awakened in the middle of the night, sometimes almost in a panicked state?  “Did I leave the stove on?”  “Did I forget to pay a major bill?”  “Is someone in trouble?”  Well the last question may be something to look at.  You being unceremoniously jarred from your sleep may be your life talking to you.  Talking to you about things that you’ve buried deep in the recesses of your soul that you want to ignore.  The dream you keep deferring.  The conversation you’re scared to have. The decision you keep putting off.  You bury those things deep inside and think by covering it up with the dirt of denial you’ll be ok.  No, you’ve actually created a graveyard inside of you.  Things that get buried eventually start to rot.  Things that rot start to smell.  Things that start to smell attract attention. Sooner or later you’re going to have to unearth the rotting, smelly issues you have interned within yourself and deal with them.  Don’t resign yourself to a zombie like existence, walking around among the living but all the while dead inside.  

*I was awakened at 2:00 in the morning and wrote this post because of my own “undead” issues I need to deal with.  It’s a pain but it’s a process.  Thanks goodness I have writing to get me through.

